Becket’s annual Gala honors an individual who has demonstrated courage in the defense of religious liberty and embodies an unfailing commitment to the preservation of religious liberty in American society and around the world. The Canterbury Medal is Becket’s highest honor and draws its name from one of history’s most dramatic religious liberty stand-offs, between Archbishop of Canterbury Thomas à Becket and King Henry II of England.

Past medalists include the late Nobel Peace Laureate and Holocaust survivor Elie Wiesel, Archbishop of Philadelphia Charles J. Chaput, OFM Cap., New York Times bestselling author and radio host Eric Metaxas, Learned Hand Law Professor Mary Ann Glendon of Harvard, and Elder Dallin H. Oaks of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.

Check back soon for more information. 

Additional Information: