The Canterbury Medal Dinner

Highlights from 2014 Dinner:

Purchase Tickets To Annual Dinner

Save the Date for our annual gala in New York!

If you have any questions about tickets or sponsorships, please call Montse Alvarado at 202.349.7205, or email

The 20th Anniversary Canterbury Medal Dinner
Thursday, May 7, 2015 at 6:00 pm
The Pierre Hotel, New York City

NYC Visitor’s Guide

The Canterbury Medal is the Becket Fund’s highest honor. It recognizes courage in the defense of religious liberty and is named for Canterbury Cathedral, where Thomas a Becket was martyred by the knights of King Henry II for his own defense of religious freedom. The Canterbury Medal is thus given annually to one “who has resolutely and publicly refused to render to Caesar that which is God’s.”

The Canterbury Medal Dinner honors the year’s medalist and also serves as a place where the work of The Becket Fund shines. The dinner is prominently attended by religious leaders of all faiths as well as by a wide variety of public figures and members of the press.

Over the years we’ve awarded the Canterbury Medal to many accomplished allies in the fight to keep religion alive in the public square. Here is a list of Canterbury Medalists since the honor was first given in 1997. (Click on the year to view a slideshow from each event)